Press Releases


Read all about it

2017 Outstanding Alumnus nominations being Accepted

971 E. Banta Road

Indianapolis, In 46227


February 17, 2017               

News Release—

Southport High School is accepting nominations through March 8 for the 2017 Outstanding Alumnus award to be presented at the Alumni Association Scholastic Recognition Banquet on Monday, May 15, 2016.  The award honors a living person who graduated from SHS at least 25 years ago—this year that means 1992 or before.  All nominees from the past ten years are considered each year.  If you have nominated a candidate in the past, the school would greatly appreciate updated information on your candidate as well.

Letters of recommendation should be sent by Wednesday, March 8, to Southport High School, 971 E. Banta Road, Indianapolis, IN 46227, Attn: Ms. Julie Breeden, or an electronic application is available on the school website, or on the alumni association website.  Submit to .  A letter should include information about the nominee, as in year of graduation, family, academic achievements, community and church service, youth work, professional achievements and prior honors and awards.

Last year’s recipient was Mrs. Peggy Warner, who graduated from SHS with the class of 1970.   Mrs. Warner is a 25-year employee of Perry Township Schools with 20 of those years at Southport High School.  She is currently serving, as she has for years, as the secretary in the athletic department office.  Peg has volunteered countless hours of work at Southport athletic functions and has been a friend and mentor to hundreds of Cardinal student athletes.  She has also been critical to developing and maintaining the historical archive on display in Southport’s fieldhouse and Cardinal’s Nest.  Mrs. Warner’s dedication and service to the students of Southport High School reaches far into our community.

Other past honorees include Dr. Philip Borst 2015; David Shaffer 2014; Chuck Stumpf, 2013; Dr. Jeffrey Kellams, 2012; Dr. Jeffery DeWester, 2011; Mr. Steven Bowles, 2010; Dr. Darlene Sayers Kardatzke, 2009; Lucinda Orme Bertram, 2008; Marvin Christie, 2007; Harold Skillman, 2006; Ruth Ake Mercer 2005; George Dudgeon, 2004; Wiley Emery, 2003; Jeff Kasting, 2002; Dr. Kenneth R. Huff, 2001; Greg Maybury, 2000; Rex Joseph, 1999; Frank Winchell, 1998; William Leck, 1997; William Kiesel, 1996; Steve Harnedy 1995; William F. Quebe, 1994; Dr. H. O. “Buzz” Hickman, 1993; Carole Wade Myers, 1992; David Frick, 1991; Albert Theil, 1990; Beverly Charmichael Heid, 1989; Dr. Louis Gunneman, 1998; Vincent Schaefer, 1987; Dr. Blanche Penrod, 1986; Charles Orme, 1985; Harold Jordan, 1984.

A large plaque in the school’s main lobby will bear the picture and name of this year’s honoree, as it does those of previous winners.